The Impreza Trio at Waterloo Arts on Sunday, April 10th at 4pm

About the Show

The Impreza Trio is a newly formed, Cleveland-area piano trio. Its members have a wide background of performance experience as soloists, chamber and orchestral musicians, and are also active as teachers at all levels. Their debut program on Sunday, April 10thwill feature trios from the standard chamber music repertoire, including works by Haydn, Shostakovich, and Mendelssohn. Join us at Waterloo Arts to enjoy a lovely performance by the Impreza Trio and feel free to arrive early to speak with the musicians and patrons before the show. Music for Miles concert series is always family friendly and free to the public and you may stay after the show to enjoy dinner at the adjoining Callaloo Cafe!

About the Music

The program opens with Haydn’s “Gypsy Rondo” Trio in G Major from 1795. The piece features a Hungarian style Rondo finale movement which incorporates several gypsy tunes, including “Recruiting Dances” that were used by Austrian army officials to attract peasants to recruiting posts. The first two movements are more tranquil, with the first a set of variations alternating between major and minor and the second a gentle, melodic Adagio. The second piece on the program is Shostakovich’s Trio No. 2 in E minor. Composed during World War II, the piece was premiered in Leningrad in 1944. Its four movements express varying degrees of intensity, angst, drama, joy, and frenzy. The music powerfully reflects on the conditions Shostakovich witnessed in Soviet Russia, and the impact on listeners is usually mesmerizing. The closing work on the program is Mendelssohn’s Piano Trio No. 2 in C minor, a four-movement work composed in 1845. The piece is extraordinarily rich and varied, with virtuosic writing for the three instruments. The final movement incorporates the familiar “Old Hundredth” hymn melody commonly known today as “Praise God from Whom All Blessings Flow.” The music is majestic and extremely dramatic, and will make for a grand ending to the overall program.

About the Musicians

Violinist Emily Cornelius holds degrees from the Oberlin Conservatory and the New England Conservatory. An active performer, she serves as concertmaster of the Heights Chamber Orchestra and the Cleveland Philharmonic Orchestra, and as principal second violin of the BlueWater Chamber Orchestra. She is also first violinist with the Canton Symphony Orchestra and the Breckenridge Music Festival Orchestra. She has appeared as soloist with the Richmond Symphony Orchestra, the Richmond Philharmonic, the Canton Symphony Orchestra, the BlueWater Chamber Orchestra, the Breckenridge Music Festival Orchestra, and the Heights Chamber Orchestra. Emily is also a dedicated teacher with a large private teaching studio in Shaker Heights.
Lauren M. Dunseath is a cellist with diverse musical tastes. She performs regularly in chamber and orchestral settings, and has an active teaching studio in Cleveland, Ohio, where she directs the Ohio City Cello Choir. Lauren received her Bachelor’s degree at SUNY Purchase under the tutelage of Julia Lichten and her Master’s degree at Carnegie Mellon University with fellowships in Opera and Contemporary Music. While at CMU, she received the Wilkins Cello Award, as well as a grant to perform in Perugia, Italy. As a chamber musician, she has won numerous competitions and performed internationally. In her career thus far, she has been fortunate to collaborate with a diverse array of musicians, from Kanye West to John Adams. Lauren continually strives to explore all genres of music with her use of color, shape, and balance.
Eric Charnofsky is active as a collaborative pianist, composer, classroom music teacher, and lecturer. He is a full-time Instructor at Case Western Reserve University and has also taught at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Eric has performed as a collaborative pianist throughout North America, concertizing with members of major American orchestras, and has performed as an orchestral pianist with the Los Angeles Philharmonic and the Cleveland Orchestra. A graduate of The Juilliard School where he majored in piano accompanying, Eric also holds degrees in solo piano performance and composition from California State University, Northridge. Eric appears on recordings on the Albany, Capstone, and Crystal labels. He was named “Composer of the Year” for 2012 by the Ohio Music Teachers Association, and his radio program, “Not Your Grandmother’s Classical Music,” airs on Monday afternoons on WRUW-FM.

There are no comments published yet.

Leave a Comment